Redirecting

Thursday, June 15, 2006

Awards

World Cup Celebration of the Day: Ecuador's Ivan Kaviedes, who pulled a bright yellow SpiderMan lucha-libre mask out of his shorts and donned it after scoring his team's third goal in the 90th minute. I did a little research, and it seems the celebration was a tribute to their late striker, Otilino Tenorio, who died last year in a car crash. Good stuff.

World Cup Play by Play Call of the Day: GOL GOL GOL GOL GOL GOL GOL GOL GOL GOOOOOOOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL de Suecia! After Sweden's Freddy Ljundberg scored the game winner in the 89th minute. Pioneered by Andres Cantor, and imitated by millions around the world. It never gets old.

Douche-ball Poker Play of the Week that Worked out Better Than Anyone Possibly Could Have Hoped: Danny Alai in High Stakes Poker. $100 antes, $300-$600 limits, with a $1200 straddle. Fred "dead money" Chammanara limps with A-7 suited. Danny Alai limps in the small blind with K-K! Huh? Limp-re-raises rarely work from the small blind Danny, and to make matters worse, Sammy Farha was the big blind - do you really want to play this pot out of position against Sammy and Fred, when Sammy will call the straddle with any two cards? But lo and behold, Sammy raises $5k more. As if Danny couldn't walk into any more luck, Fred re-raises all in for about $15k! Danny now pops it, Sammy folds, and Danny stacks Fred. I still hate how he played it.

And if anyone is wondering what doucheball means, it's the new douchebag. You heard it hear first.

until next time,
KD

4 comments:

Huge Junk said...

Doucheball will have to grow on me.

Until then I still plan on using Douchetastic, Doucheriffic, and the simple but classic, Douchebag as often as possible.

Kid Dynamite said...

trust me.. it's inevitable... I use it unconsciously in place of douchebag...

Anonymous said...

KD, your blog kicks ass and you rule and all, but don't you realize that Danny Alaei isn't in a tournament (and can risk going broke), and he's concealing the strength of his hand in order to try and stack his opponent postflop? You don't *always* have to raise KK preflop...

Kid Dynamite said...

sure, but the problem is, when Farha is in the hand, if you let him into what's basically an unraised pot, you have to be willing to go to the felt with KK, as Sammy is impossible to put on a hand.... And Danny Alai is more conservative than that.

I'm not a fan of his limp here, but he got INCREDIBLY lucky with the action behind him...