Redirecting

Monday, August 13, 2007

Vegas: Summer 2007: Part II

Warning: ACTUAL POKER CONTENT!
If you haven't read Part I - what are you waiting for?
Friday we woke up, and I educated Mikey on the proper preparation for a hard day at the tables - we ventured outside into the searing heat, rolling next door to Chipotle for some sustenance. Mikey attempted, and failed, the Guac Freeroll, although I did manage to get extra salsa free. They now try to charge for double salsa, but I threatened the salsa girl: "DYKWTFIA? I will write about this in my blog." "What eees a blog?"* she replied, and I shook my head, "Never mind - just give me more salsa." After wolfing down a mediocre chicken fajita burrito, I returned to the Venetian poker room to get down to business.
*did not actually happen
Paul X-22 Magriel was STILL there - apparently grinding it out in the 1-2NL game - I'd seen him there the previous night at 3am, and it was now around 11am. I watched him throw a quack quack ($22) bet at a kid on the flop, which was called, followed by a "double quack quack" $44 turn bet - which was called - followed by a "quack quack quack" $222 river bet, which the kid folded to.
They called me for the 2-5NL game, and I took the 7 seat at a table full of helpless flounders in the must move game. I played one interesting pot early, when, after 3 limpers, I put in a little sweetener to $25 on the button with KcJc. The small blind called quickly, as did 3 others, and we saw the flop 5 ways: Ac Tc 8s. I flopped the famous GSRD: gutshot royal draw.
The small blind surprised me by betting out $40, and everyone folded to me. I put him on a medium ace - something like AJ or A9, and I elected to smooth call and await further developments. When the turn bricked off with the 4h, the SB again led weakly at the pot with $60. This time I announced "Raise," and counted out $130 more - making it $190 to go. I had about $250 more behind, and his stack was virtually the same size. DBIWOHH (douchebag in way over his head) (clearly could not run with Kid Dynamite) thought for a solid two minutes, counting down his stack, before simply CALLING! At this point I put him on a hand like AQ, or maybe even AK.
An offsuit king fell on the river, giving me a pair of kings, which I knew was not good enough to show down after he checked to me. I calmly announced "All in" and counted down my $250 - after all - I am representing a hand like ace king myself!!! DYKWTFIA ?!?!?!
DBIWOHH took less than 5 seconds to muck his Ace Ten (flopped top two!!!) face up, lamenting "nice river." Several of the other blowfish nodded in approval - wow - what a disciplined laydown. "I can't believe you got away from that," I admitted, as I stacked his chips. He said "AK or trip aces?" I said "You know what I had," no you don't you douchebag - you have no fucking clue - and ANOTHER thing - if you're going to call the turn raise you have to call the river bet you idiot.
I was moved to the main game - which was playing a little bigger - the action was fast, furious and somewhat unpredictable. Several hours in I was treading water, somewhat annoyed that I couldn't find a hand to play a big pot with - until I looked down at 8h9h on the button in the face of a middle position raiser - a tighter kid sitting on about $2k in chips. I called the $30 as did the straddler ($2-$5 with a $10 straddle) and we took the flop 3 ways:
Th Jh Jc - I'd flopped an open ended straight flush draw in position, and I had about $650 in chips.
The straddler and the preflop raiser both checked to me, and I decided to bet out $70. The straddler mucked, and the preflop raiser, henceforth LBCR (luck box card rack), check raised me to $200.
Now, with my stack size, I thought this decision was pretty easy: I counted the pot and realized that when I moved all-in it would basically be another pot-sized raise and a show of extreme strength, and since I wasn't going to muck here, I announced "Raise," and slid $450 more into the middle - all in. I am almost positive he's mucking AA, KK, QQ here - I thought his check-raise said "I have a real hand, and I'm not ready to give up on this flop just because the board is paired - I want to know where I stand." Of course, my all-in re-raise in the face of that said "AA no good d-bag - you better have a monster." Unfortunately, he did.
LBCR shakes his head - cannot believe how cold this deck is - takes 45 seconds, and finally says "I'm not good enough to lay this down - I call - do you have tens?" Before I can even respond, the dealer has burned and turned the 2h, and my opponent has turned over his AJ. As I turn over my 8h9h, explaining "I don't have tens," the dealer burns and turns the river - a vicious ten, filling up my opponent's hand.
I calmly turned to the dealer, and explained that next time she should slow down and tap the table before she deals, in case we wanted to do business. I was shocked to hear her explain "you can't do that here." Now, perhaps she actually DID know who the fuck I was, because I'm not doing business anyway, but I was nonetheless surprised to hear this response. I sought out a floorman, who confirmed for me "of course you can run it multiple times," and I explained to him that the dealer (who was pushed after the hand) was not aware of that and should be made aware. The floorman returned 10 minutes later, asked to speak with me away from the table, and explained that he was very sorry, and that this specific dealer had been told NOT to run the board multiple times previously, and had made a mistake. I thanked him for his attention to the matter, and jokingly asked if he was going to give me 1/2 the pot from the cage. He declined.
This same floor man came back to me an hour later and again pulled me aside, explaining that he'd talked to the head of the poker room, who had told him that they discourage running it multiple times in games smaller than 10-20 NL because it confuses the tourists. Now, why am I dwelling on this? Because it illustrates one of the things that makes the Venetian the best poker room in town - this floorman took the time to come back to me three separate times on the issue, just to make sure he had fully and accurately explained himself - and I thanked him for the attention and professionalism. I didn't even have to explain to him that I was a world famous blogger with a massive internet following who could easily put the Venetian poker room out of business. I asked him if Kathy Raymond, the manager, was around, as I wanted to commend her on the quality of the poker room, and also to ask her how it was possible that the room she ran at Foxwoods chugged maximum cock, while the Venetian room was the best I'd seen (and when I say that, I mean the best RUN - the best EXPERIENCE). Unfortunately, Kathy was not around, so I returned to donking off my chips.
After steaming off another buy in over the next two hours, I decided to go seek some more positive EV in the double deck blackjack pit, where I encountered a subprime liquidity crisis of my own. After being tilted by the suboptimal play of a douchebag who decided to hit his hard 17 against a ten, and took the 5 that was supposed to be painted on my 16, I moved to an adjacent table to take on the dealer heads up. The pitboss asked me to color up my green $25 chips before leaving, but I explained that I was just going to the next table. He explained "but I don't have room for them in that rack," and I thought he was just busting on me - like "hey kid - we're getting all those chips one way or another," but then realized his point that the rack was full. Hah - I was really going to stick it to the Venetian by making them figure out where to put my chips!
After dumping one buy-in, and 1/2 of another, a woman I'd played with previously in the same pit joined the table to enjoy the carnage. I was playing two hands of $75 each, and found a 6-5 and an 8-3 against a dealer ten. I doubled both - going into my pocket for more cash - and watched the dealer make a 5 card twenty against my 16 and 17. Fuck you. I had 4 hundy's left in my pocket, and three green chips, and I layed them in the spot: all in.
"I have to change them, sir," the dealer explained, and I waited as she made me a nice stack of green chips. Tina, the other woman at the table, rubbed the felt excitedly, as the dealer dealt our hands face down - and showed a deuce. Tina looked at her hand: blackjack! I laughed, and lifted my hand off the felt: ACE. "OOOH" - she was excited - "show me first," I laughed again, shook my head, and squeeeeeeeezed the second card: aaaaaace....
Fuck.
Obviously, you have to split aces, but I had a liquidity issue - I had no more cash in my pocket! I paused, stood up, looked at the sky, and whispered "fuck." The pit boss was fully aware of my situation, and was standing by, trying not to laugh, as he watched me squirm and try to find a solution. I reached into my "non-bankroll" pocket and fingered $180 or so in $20's. This cannot be happening - DYKWTFIA? I'm Kid fucking Dynamite! I have AMPLE liquidity in my room safe - how did I end up short stacked and all in at the double deck blackjack pit with a hand that I need to split ?!!?!? Normally, this would be solved simply by an insta-loan from the BigShow - but I was without his tutelage on this trip.
Tina, realizing my dilemna, inquires cautiously, "Would you like to borrow some money?" Now, I'm sitting there in a Bruce Springsteen Fenway Park t-shirt and cargo shorts, and she has no idea who the fuck I am, so I try to remain calm and not scare her away with desperation.
Calmly, confidently, I look at her, "Yes. I have plenty of money in my safe, I'll go get it if I lose the hand." She looks at the pit boss, who gives her a "don't look at me - this is between the two of you" look. "I don't know if this is a good idea," she hesitates - after all, she's probably worried that I'm going to have to sell my blood or something if I lose this hand. "Look, I can handle the action - I want the action," I explained, without resorting to "DYKWTFIA."
After another glance at the pit boss, who is now smirking, and still giving her the "don't get me involved in this" look, she asks "are you SURE you want to do this?" "Absolutely," I tell her, but just so there's no confusion, I add "just to be clear - you're not buying my hand - you're loaning me $475 which I will pay back either way."
"Give me something to hold on to," Tina requests collateral, and before she's even done talking I've slid my phone across the table. She nods to the pit boss, who instructs the dealer to give me $500 from Tina's marker. The dealer, a 50-something woman, is freaking out - certain that if she puts a bad beat on me here I'll have to sell a kidney to get out of debt.
She paints my two cards face down, and then proceeds to bust her hand - a 4 card 24. Tina and the dealer are whooping and hollering, and I slide Tina back the money I'd borrowed, and just laugh - I immediately walk away from the table and call Big Show and Dirty Dave with this completely absurd story - how I had to borrow money from a random person at the blackjack table because I'd ended up all-in with aces. The pit boss doesn't seem to understand that it's not the money that made the hand a big deal for me - I mean, it was a big bet for me, but the sigmas of the situation were much more impressive than the win. When I get up to leave the table 45 minutes later, the pit boss says "Where are you going?" "Casino credit - this is never happening again," I reply coolly, and go fill out a credit app.
I took a walk to the pool, nearly combusting when the sun hit my hooded sweatshirt that is standard poker-room gear for me. I found several members of the crew lounging in the wading pool. "Do you guys realize it's 115 degrees?" I was in awe. "Why are you wearing a sweatshirt?" They were mystified, not understanding that the temperature inside the casino was 1/2 of what it was out by the wading pool.
After releasing my guns from the confines of the sweatshirt, and basking in 5 minutes of Vegas heat, it was time for me to return to the indoor environment, where I donked off a buy-in at the Pai-Gow pit before going upstairs to change for dinner.
part III to come...
-KD

Monday, August 06, 2007

Vegas Summer 2007: Short Stacked and Steaming

Thankfully, neither of the adjectives in the title apply to my poker experiences in Vegas this weekend, but I did manage to find myself short stacked in an impossible to make up blackjack scenario, and steaming by the pool as I threatened to combust under the relentless glare of the Vegas sun on my uber-pale white skin. But I'm getting ahead of myself...
The car picked me up Thursday at 4:30pm at my apartment, and, being the pro I am, I was untilted by the barrage of potential tilt-inducers thrown at me: the car had that horrible incense smell - not unlike the smell inside the Venetian, which Big Show speculated may actually be vaporized Red Bull. The driver, a clean cut young Hispanic gentleman, exhibited a propensity for gunning the car at stopped cars in front of him in a desperate attempt to cover the 15 open yards of road in the heavy traffic on the Long Island Expressway in the shortest amount of time before coming to a dead stop again. Halfway through our hellish journey to JFK I realized that he was sick - as he was sniffling and sneezing every several minutes, digging in the front seat for something to wipe his nose with. Now, I'm a germ-a-phobe already, and when you throw the wear and tear of a Vegas weekend into the mix, I was certain that it would be impossible to avoid coming down with something this weekend - most likely the hard to avoid Vegas Flu - which is the product of stale plane air, various hotel room germs, and 2 hours of sleep a night.
I met Mikey at the airport, pounded a double vodka&cranberry, and boarded my JetBlue flight, knowing I'd need some rest on the plane if I was going to survive the night. I had confided in Dirty Dave that I was having serious stamina problems, but he was convinced that the desert air would cure all my ills. Never mind the fact that I was unlikely to go outside - at least the oxygen rich casino air would help - if my NYC smoke-free-softened respiratory system could re-adapt to the abundance of cigarette smoke I was sure to encounter.
My exit row seat provided ample leg room, but made it tough to lean against the window, due to the curve of the exit door. Hey JetBlue - YEAH- there IS something you can do to make my flight more comfortable: Shut the fuck up!!! The happy and extremely loud voice of the stewardess came blaring over the public announcement system all too often, advising me that I could order a PPV movie at my seat, get as many free packs of cookies as I'd like, and that they'd be coming around with another beverage service. All I wanted was a few hours of sleep, which I managed to snag, despite the presence of some true chooches on the flight.
One douchebag, and I am not making this up, although it's so perfectly stereotypical that anyone who has encountered one of these douchebags will swear I was just relying on the existing image, was whistling like he was hailing a cab, and shouting "Vegas BABY!!!" every so often. Hey Spanky - act like you've been there before. When he roused me out of my last nap, shortly before we landed, I turned to scout out exactly who this cockchugger was. I knew Dirty Dave would never believe me when I told him that this guy was ACTUALLY wearing a Kangol cap, with a cigarette tucked into the brim. "Kid Dynamite," you're thinking, "come on - there is no way you really ran into the ultimate vegas stereotypical douchebag." Now, the thing is - even though chooches are a dime a dozen, they come in a variety of styles: the sombrero wearing chooches, the wool scully clad chuggers, the BIG TEN athletic shirt sporting glory hounds (GO TERPS!!!), the sunglasses at night spiked hair glamour boys, and the Kangol cap d-bags.
I had encountered one of the rarist breeds: the Kangol cap WITH tucked cigarette. Now the cigarette was not tucked behind his ear, mind you, it was tucked into the brim of the cap, pointing straight down - in the patented mark of the uber-douche. Unfortunately, there was no one I could turn to and offer 25-1 odds that this guy was staying at either the Palms or the Hard Rock. Exiting the plane, the older gentleman behind me, a few rows in front of the UberDouche, ranted "He should be arrested." I smiled and responded "It's not his fault he's a complete idiot," and sped toward the cab line - which was completely empty! I basked in the freeroll, and cruised over to the Venetian.
We met Dave, Brian and Ted near the check-in desk, dropped our bags in the room, and went back downstairs to grab some subpar food in the food court by the casino floor. The other guys went to putz around at the sportsbook and the craps table as we waited for BigJosh to arrive, and I attacked the double deck blackjack pit solo. This was my first Vegas trip in a while without the company of my faithful degenerate gambling companion, the Big Show, and despite the fact that we were rolling 18 guys deep for Brian's bachelor party, I was basically alone in my willingness to gamble outside of the craps table. Mikey made a brief stop at my blackjack table - spiking two blackjacks and a hard 20 in three hands, and executing a professional Hit and Run.
After dumping a buy-in at the blackjack table, I saw BigJosh from 40 yards away at the dice pit - his 7 foot frame is easily visible. I arrived just in time for his roll, which was a bonanza - a 45 minute clinic in how to effortlessly slam points of all varieties - fours, tens, fives - it didn't matter - Josh nailed them all, as I carried on the bachelor party tradition started by E-dub at my own BP a few years ago, by randomly adding more odds bets to Brian's passline wagers. I'm not a craps savant, but I used to be good at math - and I caught the dealer mis-paying one of my bets. As he tried to argue his case, the boxman said "The kid is right" and threw me the difference. Craps dealers seem to be the most mathematical and intelligent dealers in the casino - but maybe that's just because the amateur players have no clue what they are doing! When he fucked up a second time, severly shorting my payout, I caught it again, and laughed at the long shot that was me managing to notice this twice, in my imparied state. DYKTWFIA? I can do craps math even after 12 various sundry vodka drinks - none of which included Red Bull. When Josh finally passed the dice, I'd won back the blackjack losses, and made a small profit for the evening. We proceeded to the circular main bar on the Venetian casino floor, and watched the hookers try to snag a fish for the evening.
I laughed as one guy fed a lady some quality bullshit about being from New Zealand, and asked her name. "Jesse," she replied, as he inquired, taunting her, "Chesty??!?!" while eyeing her bombs, which were bigger than her head. After he was done fucking with her, I commended him on his New Zealand angle, but reminded him that he didn't need to charm hookers, he just needed to pay them.
Suddenly, a roaming magician came by, and dazzled the crowd with a display of street magic that would put David Blaine to shame. Now, I was drunk but not stupid, and I consider myself smarter than the average bear - but Cameron Shadow was fucking INCREDIBLE. I was less impressed with his ability to make a cigarette levitate - as I know they sell that very trick upstairs in the Magic Shop at the Grand Canal Shops - but when he made the serial letter mark on a dollar bill move, and handed the newly defiled bill back to its owner - it was just the beginning. He had a person pull a $20 out of their wallet, write his name on it, and hold it in tightly between his thumb and forefinger. Then Cameron handed the person a small lemon - took the bill from him, and held it over the fruit, shaking it once or twice at the lemon, which was in the random person's hand. As Cameron made the bill disappear with sleight of hand and pulled a knife out of his pocket, we knew what was coming - he sliced the lemon in half, and something was sticking out of the flesh - a folded up bill, which the person pulled out to show that it was the one with his name on it.
As we left, jaws open in awe after several more up close demonstrations of various tricks, we hit Grand Luxe for some early morning sustenance. After sitting down, the 7 of us waited several minutes for a waitress, as we considered the menu. After 12 minutes or so, a waitress did a fly by, explaining "I'll be right with you, boys." After another 8 minutes, we got up and left - annoyed by the gross incompetance at Grand Luxe. As we exited, the host, completely ignorant to the fact that he'd recently seated us, and that we should NOT be leaving yet, said "thanks for coming," to which Mikey smiled, "Thanks - great meal."
Fully tilted, I figured there was no better thing to do while drunk and steaming at 4am than check out the action in the poker room. Although Paul X-22 Magriel was sitting in the 1-2NL game, his froglike tongue wagging back and forth, I realized I was in no shape to play, and joined the guys in Dave's suite where we tried to order some room service. When we realized it would take another hour for food, I abandoned the effort, as Dave shouted from the other room "Who left a shit in the toilet?" "That's Ted's calling card!" Brian replied, as Ted came out of the bedroom, proudly smiling: "Didn't you like how I left the tp so that you could still see the poop?"
I smiled, glad to see that although I wasn't in the company of the gambling addicts who could keep up with Big Show, I was nonetheless surrounded by degenerates of the highest caliber. I returned to my room to get some rest, as Dave ranted about the current state of his "ball bag," after a full day of work and a night of drinking and gambling.
Vegas baby. Vegas.
stay tuned for Part Two.
-KD

Monday, July 30, 2007

Cause This is THRILLLLLER

What? You haven't seen the Philippine Prison Thriller video?

get on it right now.

-KD

Wednesday, July 25, 2007

Charles In Charge Of Our Days, And Our Nights

Scott Baio has a reality show on VH1. I know - if I told you 10 years ago that Hulk Hogan, Tom Sizemore, Flava Flav and Scott Baio would each have their own reality show - you'd have laid me 1500-1 on the parlay. I only caught 10 minutes of "Scott Baio is 45 and Single," but as far as I can tell, the premise of the show is that Baio has had trouble maintaining relationships, but is now with a girl he likes. He's taken an 8 week vow of celibacy, which his friends are trying to sabotage by using Baio's Charles In Charge fame to attract chicks, and also catch his residual chick-runoff. Multi Sigma for sure.
Today at our therapy dog trip, we had to take a time out between rooms when Oscar popped wood in the hallway. I guess he was excited about his new haircut, or that it was dinner time in the hospital. He recovered nicely, and had some great visits.
-KD

Summer of Love

Mrs. Dynamite and I have returned from our first of FIVE summer weddings. This past weekend we went to Napa, for a long weekend of wine tasting and a black tie wedding, and the first time that we were both away from Oscar, who survived nonetheless under the exceptional care of our dog walker who came and stayed in our apartment with the O-dog.
On the wine tasting front, Vincent Arroyo was again the clear standout - with unmatched hospitality and quality. Go there if you visit Napa - you will not regret it.
Oscar got his haircut yesterday: shaved To the FELT! The Vortex and Big Show immediately both replied "Groomer must have had AQ!"
So the Kid Dynamite summer schedule is:
Wedding in Napa (Complete)
Wedding in NJ
Bachelor Party in Vegas
week off
Wedding in Tuscany, Italy (week long trip)
Wedding in New Jersey
Wedding in the Berkshires
Hopefully I'll have something interesting to report somewhere along the way...
-KD

Sunday, July 15, 2007

Advance Move

Forecast: Heavy drinking
That was my prognostication, which of course turned out to be correct, before last night's String Cheese Incident show at the Beacon - a Saturday night fiesta to close a four night tour from one of the most talented jam bands around. The show was intense, but I was surprised to learn an advanced concert move, never before seen by me, from one of the myriad happy go lucky jammy hippies at the show:
At the set break, the crowd poured out into the packed concourse of the Beacon Theatre, as sweaty under-the-influence hippies tried to make their way to the bathroom or the bar. I was standing at the corner of the bar, neat the door to the theatre floor, when Johnny Superfan, a chunky kid of about 25 years old with a curly afro, sunglasses, and a cape, emerged from the seating area. He surveyed the scene, then quickly made an exaggerated swallowing motion, gagged, and put his hands over his mouth, clearly about to puke.
The sardine-packed crowd parted like the red sea, in an effort to avoid the impending chow shower, as Johnny Superfan expertly took three quick staggering steps, then, like Kaiser Soze at the end of Usual Suspects, fell into a normal gait, and removed his hand from in front of his mouth.
"Holy crap! That was a SERIOUSLY advanced move!" I was in awe, exclaiming to Scott. "the FAKE puke to get through the throng of people!" Incredible - not even Dirty Dave had that one in his playbook.
In non-fake-puke-angle-shooter news, we have been going to the hospital with Oscar once a week for therapy dog visits. Last week we met a crazy non-stop talking old man, who made us laugh as he blabbered and pointed to his roommate, "Me, I'm 79 - that guy over there - he's 83. HE'S got problems." He went on a rambling monologue that was a cross between George Carlin and Rodney Dangerfield - but was happy to see the O-dog.
Hopefully, you've been tuning in to Pauly's TaoOfPoker and WickedChops for all the WSOP news - Phil Hellmuth is clearly a favorite to win Douchebag of the Year again.
-KD

Saturday, June 30, 2007

Charity

Sure, I volunteered at the local soup kitchen a few times back in high school, but lately the only charity I've been doing is when I donate my stack to a no limit hold'em opponent by overplaying AQ, or generously payoff a river bet knowing I'm almost certainly beat.

However, we're now doing a weekly gig at St. Vincent's hospital to take advantage of Oscar's healing powers - visiting patients with our therapy dog, hoping to put some smiles on people's faces. I went for the first time this week, with both Oscar and Mrs. Dynamite.



Since I spend a vast amount of time at work talking about my dog as if he was my son, my colleagues were eager to know how the first visit was. I tried to explain that, in a word, it was "hard." You see, it's not like we're just fulfilling requests of people who have asked to have a dog come visit them and are expecting us. Each week we visit one floor of the hospital, armed with nothing more than Oscar's smile and list of patients which contains only their name and how many days they have been in the hospital for. The difficult part is that many of these patients are quite sick, are not expecting you, may be sleeping, and you have no idea how they are feeling, or if you should interrupt them - or even if they will want to see you when you DO decide to wake them up.

To make matters worse, each patient is supposed to sign a "release" form acknowledging that they have approved the therapy dog visit - but it's really awkward to have to ask these patients: some very sick, some elderly, some non-English speaking, some suspicious, some illiterate - to sign any kind of release - as I fear they are already wary of people trying to take advantage of them or to sabotage their rights.

Now, as a poker player and a person with good people skills, I think one of my strengths is reading and reacting to people. In the hospital however, it's very hard to tell when you peek in on a patient who has their eyes closed if they will be happy to see you and your dog, or if they will be annoyed that you've just woken them up after they finally managed to fall asleep despite the pain of their recent surgical incision.

Still, we managed to navigate our way throughout the floor - taking a few early rejections in stride, and basking in the graciousness and smiles of several patients who acknowledged how Oscar brightened their day. Oscar did not rip out any IV's, despite his attempt to play "bedtime crazy time" with one woman who asked that we put him up on her bed (this is his favorite game when we get in bed at night - he spins around like a mad man, barks, and pounces at me while I pretend to hide under the covers). Oscar is still getting used to all the medical equipment - and his size is a little awkward - he's just small enough that it's awkward for the patients to lean over and pet him, and just big enough that we have to be very careful who's lap we place him on - especially knowing that many of these patients are surgical patients - but not knowing the nature of their surgeries.

One woman asked us "What made you decide to do this?" I explained to her that Oscar made people smile - no matter who saw him, or where we were - and we just wanted to see if we could spread that happiness around to people who might need it.

"Well, you put a smile on my face," she confirmed, as Oscar licked her hand.

until next time,
KD

Saturday, June 23, 2007

Cops and Robbers

Finally! Something to write about! Unfortunately, the topic is a total cockchugger: the shutdown of my poker club.

Last week, another club on the east side of town was robbed. My immediate reaction: "Fuck." The reaction of the management and security at my club: *shrug* - and instead of tightening things up and laying low, they let in all the doucheballs from the other club!

Now, for some reason, when the other club got robbed, all people were concerned about was beefing up front door security. I had a different concern: the COPS! When a NYC talking head is spewing quotes like:

"I told the NYPD about the existence of this illegal gambling hall weeks ago . . . We're lucky that no one was hurt, but a bust could have prevented this dangerous armed robbery from happening. At least now this den of inequity (SIC) is closed for good"

It doesn't take a fucking CSI to figure out that the cops are going to have to do something to save face. Now, the cops clearly know about the club, and the club KNOWS that the cops know about the club, so they apparently made the level two thinking error of assuming they would be ok. How wrong. When I woke up Friday morning at 3:45am to see my cell phone flashing, and found a one word text from the Vortex: "Raided" - I knew our berry patch had been uprooted.

Since Channel 11 news was on the scene, turning it into a ridiculous, sensationalized story, I can't imagine this will be a case of "oh - we'll be open by Monday."

So, now I'll have to find another way to get my poker fix - like surfing the 2+2 message boards for ridiculous topics like this thread with a bold claim by David Sklanksy. I'm blatantly misquoting and oversimplifying, but Sklansky's basic thesis is that no one who is a certified Jesus Freak can beat him in a math test, because Jesus Freaks, are, by definition, not smart. Great stuff.

In more interesting poker discussion, Brian "SbRugby" Townsend made a recent post on his blog about a very important, very situation specific topic.

"An example of this would be if you were playing someone HU and raised preflop. The flop came down Kh Qh 2c you hold A8o and bet the pot and are called. The turn brings the 5 of clubs and your opponent checks and you check. The river brings another five and your opponent bets pot. Many players would say "I have ace high I fold" and if they held QJo instead they might say "I have middle pair I call." But the best players realize that these two hands have the same value on the river as an opponent value betting a queen is unlikely. I feel mediocre players would be more likely to call with the queen and top players would call equally with both hands. This is one of the little things that I look for when I am up against a new opponent, and to be honest very very few players call with QJ as often at A8 in that scenario, probably myself included, but the truly great ones call equally with both hands."

A key concept articulated by one of the games fastest rising young gunners.

In non-poker news, Mrs. Dynamite and I cooked some good stuff this week, including roasted vegetable meatloaf with potato and corn salad.

In even more important news, Oscar finally made his first visit to a hospital as a therapy dog! After passing the therapy dog test, we had to make it through all of the red tape at St. Vincent's, but both Mrs. Dynamite and I, as well as Oscar, are now fully registered as volunteers. Oscar even has an ID badge:


until next time,
KD

Friday, June 08, 2007

No, thank you, I'll pass

I live in the West Village of NYC. It's a very liberal, very progressive, tolerant neighborhood. I've seen a lot of weird shit - so much so that very little surprises me or fazes me anymore (Nothing fazes Bill Gazes!)
I've a had a small black man offer to "show me what a real pussy looks like" as I walked down the street with Mrs. Dynamite. I've been proffered a plethora of illegal substances, and solicited for sex by too many tranny whores to count. But today, it was all about the tone of voice.
As I walked down Christoper Street at 9pm to grab a slice of pizza following a big poker session, a guy standing against a car who looked a little like an Italian Chris Kattan, looked at me and simply state/inquired/offered, "FUCK?"
It was the exact same tone of voice a waitress would use when pouring you a cup of coffee and asking "Sugar?" Or perhaps bringing you a Caesar salad and asking "Pepper?"
But no - this was "Fuck?"
Now, I don't think anything about my actions suggested that I was looking for hot man on man anonymous sex, but I guess this guy's preflop reads are a little off.
I didn't bother to decline, instead just continuing on my merry way, somewhat surprised that I'd even been surprised by this proposition.
All in a day's work.
-KD

Tuesday, June 05, 2007

WSOP!

The WSOP is underway already, and two sites will keep you up to date with all you need to know:
WickedchopsPoker posts several times daily in their inimitable, irreverent, yet informative style,
and Pauly @ the Tao of Poker is again working the WSOP circuit with his veteran insight and angles.
Story of the day is Tony G threatening to whoop someones ass at Cardplayer - as they're stealing the chip counts Tony G's company bought the rights too. Read Tony's beef HERE.
The non poker topic this week is how the Sopranos season finale will go down next week. Big Show predicts a True Romance style Mexican standoff, where everyone dies in a hail of gunfire. I think a realistic scenario is that AJ actually kills Tony! Let's think about it - AJ has been portrayed as the biggest pussy of all time - couldn't Tony say something to him about being a MAN, and AJ respond by killing his old man?
we'll see.
-KD

Saturday, June 02, 2007

Perspective, TILT.

You know, I steam home after a few frustrating poker sessions, and then have to put it all in perspective. I met up with some old friends on Thursday night, and found that my friend Steve's degenerative retinal disease is getting worse. He'll probably be blind by the end of the year; and meanwhile I'm annoyed that the pompous doucheball in the 2 seat spiked his 5 outer on the river against me, or that the quiet cockchuckker in the 7 seat rivered his flush (and I didn't pay him off - DYKWTFIA?). I can take a bad beat, but perhaps the best play I've made in each of the last two sessions I've played was to get up and leave when I realized I wasn't playing my best poker.

Tonight, as I TILTED toward the subway, and commended myself for leaving a game I wasn't enjoying, I remembered that I should keep it in perspective - I'm sure Steve would love to be able to sit in a 2-5NL hold'em cash game and lose the money I just lost - but he can't see the cards. As my buddy Leeroy once put it, after listening to Third Eye Blind's Semi Charmed Life, "We lead semi-charmed lives," and by that he meant, we lead CHARMED lives...


I have great wife, the best dog around, financial security, and my health. Knock on wood.

So every time I TILT myself and get mad that I smooth called instead of raised, or made a shitty payoff on the river, I'll think of Steve - and the fact that I deserve a big "fuck you" for sweating the little things.

My Dad reads my blog on occasion now - he's an elementary school teacher (for a few more weeks at least! He's retiring after 30 something years at the end of the month!), and his school's Internet filter blocks this site sometimes. I'm sure this post will cause it to be blocked, because I'm about to unleash a stream of FUCK YOU's, but, in the words of Tom Cruise's Joel Goodsen in Risk Business, "Sometimes you just have to say "What the Fuck?""

I try not to give stupid celebrities any more breath than they deserve, but I figure some of the latest news deserves a few FUCK YOU's.

Lindsay Lohan - REALLY? You get arrested for DUI and you're not even old enough to drink? Really? FUCK YOU! How the fuck do you crash your car driving drunk when you're underage... and YOU'RE LINDSAY FUCKING LOHAN?!?!?! Can't she hire a driver? THIS tilts me... "Kid Dynamite, what's the big deal?" you ask... Yeah - as long as Lindsay just keeps driving into trees, no harm no foul - but drunk driving is far from a victimless crime, and I don't think I need to get preachy on this. She should do some time in the joint, and have to poop in front of other people, (and toss the salad, of course.)

Jerry Buss - seems like a decent guy - but gets arrested for drunk driving a day after LL. Come on Jerry - you're worth about a billion dollars, play high stakes poker with pocket change, and bang chicks less than half your age - do you REALIZE how much you have to lose? Hire a fucking driver!

In other news - have you seen the new Streetview feature on Google Maps? They don't have it in every city, but basically what they did was drive around in a van with several cameras on it, and build a visual map database similar to the "virtual tours" you see on real estate sights - only this is basically for the world... eventually. Pretty awesome.

I'm a little worried about the future of American society. Sports Illustrated used to have a weekly sidebar titled "This Week's Sign of the Apocalypse," - and if the new shows Pirate Master and Sunset Tan don't qualify, I don't know what does.

until next TILT,

KD

Sunday, May 20, 2007

The Joint

"Did you hear Paris's sentence got cut in half?" I asked Mrs. Dynamite.
"Yeah - she gets to stay in some segregated 12 person unit," Mrs. D confirmed, but was clearly pondering something deeper...
"I wonder if she has to poop in front of other people?" Mrs. Dynamite asked me with an intrigued look on her face.
I returned a blank stare.
"Because that's probably the most humiliating thing in prison," she explained her logic to me.
"Umm, I'm pretty sure being forced to eat someones ass is worse," I lobbied.
"Fine - the worst system imposed thing," Mrs. Dynamite settled on.
That's my girl.
We watched The Departed last night. Awesome movie. Never mind the fact that any movie which showcases Matt Damon and Mark Wahlberg's Boston accents will automatically be good (cases in point: Perfect Storm, Good Will Hunting); I think I can safely put The Departed in the top 5 movies of all time - brilliant plot, brilliant acting, brilliant directing.
-KD

Wednesday, May 16, 2007

Donkey

Warning: ACTUAL POKER CONTENT
So I fucked up, but I raked a huge pot... here's what went down.
2-5NL, $485 effective stacks. I've been at the table for 20 minutes, and haven't really played a hand.
After 2 limpers, I make it $40 to go from the cutoff with A-K. Lou cold calls me on the button, and both limpers call.
Flop: K-4-2, with two spades. I have the ace of spades.
I'm somewhat confused when the second limper (I'll call him Jerry) bets $350, to which the dealer responds "Raise." I'm thinking "that's a bet you fuckin' idiot - not a raise," and trying to figure out how to react to this massive overbet. Jerry is left with about $100 behind, basically the same stack size as me.
I decide there is no way he's open overbetting like this with a set - the only hand that makes any sense that beats me is 2-4. After 45 seconds, I move all in. Now Lou shakes his head and says "Now I'm priced in." He pushes all in for $550.
It's at this point that I realize Eric is still in the hand - and had bet out $150 to start this action! I turn to Lou, who I know, and mutter "I didn't realize he was in the hand!"
"Don't worry - he's mucking," Lou whispers.
"Lou, you don't get it - I thought I was reacting to a $350 open overbet - not a bet and a raise!" I whisper.
Lou laughs, and Eric, across the table, CALLS! He has me and Lou covered.
The turn is a red nine, and the river is an ace. Lou and Eric both have 2-4 for flopped bottom two pair, and Jerry had the flush draw that never got there. River suckout! SHIP IT!
Only Jerry seemed to understand the irony of the situation, in that I somehow completely missed Eric's opening bet. The other doucheballs at the table were like "yeah - top pair top kicker - you're committed."
I played one other hand of note - where TVEAK (TV educated Asian Kid) limps, I make it $40 with KK, Jerry calls, and TVEAK calls.
TVEAK bets out $60 on the flop of A-A-3 with two spades (I have the king of spades). I've played enough live NYC poker to know that it's about a 4 sigma event for the average player to bet out trip aces in this spot. I call. Jerry folds. The turn is the nine of spades. TVEAK checks his hole cards and bets $100 - leaving himself $225 behind.
I briefly consider raising, but realize he's not folding a better hand, and if I'm ahead, he's probably dead to one out. I call.
The river is a non-spade jack, and he again bets $100.
I throw my $100 call in, acknowledging "If you have an ace, you played it really well."
He tables eights and is SHOCKED when I turn over KK.
"How can you call me down with that?"
Well, because I'm a pro, and you're a donkey. That's how.
Pass the Sugar!
until next time,
KD

Monday, May 14, 2007

Home Again

Yesterday the Vortex and I made our triumphant return to the large scale NYC live poker scene. Using my 7 year old original Acepoint 3-6 limit connections, we gained entry to a new berry patch, and were tearing up a 2-5NL game before 4pm.
There was one guy at the table who thought he was the Captain, sitting directly to the Vortex's right, who was sitting directly to my right. Poor doucheball had never even realized he had the two toughest players in the room to his immediate left, even after I checkraised him off the best hand from out of position, and the Vortex made him lay down time after time. We let him steal the $20 pots, and raised/reraised him in the larger ones.
In one pot, after 5 limpers, I made it $40 on the button with AQ, aka, the NUTS. The small blind INSTA-called me, and set off a wave of callers - everyone came along for the ride.
On the K-J-5 flop, they checked to me in slow succession. I took a free card, which was a blank - and the aggro guy bet out $75. I mucked, and the SB called. They both checked when a queen came on the river, and I was surprised to see the SB show down J-9 for the winner. Now, I'd been playing tight aggressive, and casually asked him a hand later "If I bet the flop, do you call?" His answer summed it all up:
"Well, if YOU bet the flop, I might call, because YOU were the preflop raiser."
"Sure. Seems reasonable." I looked at the Vortex with raised eyebrows, and I swear I caught him drooling. "You'll come home, home again" I hummed, the classic God Street Wine tune, as I shuffled my chips and daydreamed about my soon to be winnings.
"I once was lost, but now I'm found," Vortex preached - as we both realized we'd found a new poker home.
-KD

Wednesday, May 09, 2007

Sprung

Spring has sprung, and the Odog, after a hefty vet bill and a shot in the ass, is back in effect, recovered from his gastro-ills.
I came across this fantastic youtube clip of Colin Cowherd comparing Yankee radio announcer Suzyn Waldman to the Nature Boy Ric Flair.
Speaking of wrestling - there's this clip of the Iron Sheik going ballistic at an autograph signing for the Ultimate Warrior - from this week!
I'm still trying to figure out who's a bigger cockchugging whore - Roger Clemens, or the Yankee fans. Did the Yankee fans forget that Clemens totally fucked them a few years ago after they threw him a retirement party and he then signed with Houston? In any case, it will be good for the Sox-Yanks rivalry, as Rocket is the Evil Empire personified.
If you missed this week's Entourage - do whatever you can to see it. Best. Episode. Ever. It's about Ari trying to negotiate a last minute deal on Yom Kippur. Great stuff.
-KD

Sunday, May 06, 2007

Happy Hour Hero

Rumors of my demise have been greatly exaggerated. I just haven't had anything to say that was worthy of bumping the Dogs Playing Poker custom artwork from the top spot on my page.
So I'd already heard from Big Show, who was in Vegas for the perfect storm collision of NBA All-Star weekend, Chinese New Year, and Presidents' Day, that the city was an absolute shitshow that weekend. Now, MGM CEO Terry Lanni commented on Mirage missing their quarterly earnings estimates, "The gang-bangers and others who came for purposes other than attending the game, they weren't very good for Las Vegas." Great stuff. He added, "In talking to our casino hosts, a number of people stayed in their villas and suites. They felt uncomfortable."
In other words, the NBA entourages and fans created such a hostile atmosphere that the Asian high rollers were AFRAID to come out and gamble! FANNNNNNNtastic.
Yesterday, we had another similar perfect storm of events: Drinko de Mayo (a retarded holiday made up to give people who have no Mexican connection at all an excuse to drink margaritas at 10am,) the Kentucky Derby, and the Fight of the Year - Mayweather-DeLaHoya. My observations in New York, however, are that no one was afraid to go out and party.
Interestingly, walking through the uber-hot Meatpacking district on my way to dinner and my second consecutive moe. show, it seemed as though the City was strangely subdued - almost as if everyone had crashed and burned earlier - passed out in the wake of early afternoon Patron shots.
I had the opportunity to see moe. live this weekend. Twice. This was an aggressive proposal, considering that I'd never seen the band before, and had only limited exposure to a few live shows of theirs. They were playing a 6 night run to open a brand new venue within walking distance of my apartment - the Highline Ballroom - a 700 capacity general admission area, roughly 1/2 the size of Irving Plaza. My hopes were dimmed somewhat by a failed voyage several weeks earlier to check out Umprey's McGee for the first time. I felt like the crazy old dude at the concert, surrounded by a sea of kids aged mostly 16-23. Rony and I weren't standing there for 3 minutes before some plastered 17 year old asked us to buy him beer. No thanks. Umphrey's percussion-centric jams didn't do it for me, and I kept the faith that moe. would be better.
Friday night's show was awesome - but I had barely recovered sufficiently by Saturday night to properly pollute myself again. In any case, I recommend checking out moe. if they come to an area near you. And yes, the band's name is m-o-e-period, in case you were confused.
Mrs. Dynamite won the "best text message of the year so far" award, with last nights simple message: "Oscar just took a shit on the carpet in the bedroom!!!" I was at dinner when I got this message, and burst out laughing, immediately thinking that Oscar was exercising some defiance and protest over the bath we'd given him earlier that afternoon - but it turned out he was sick and undergoing some serious gastro-distress. He spent the rest of the evening following Mrs. Dynamite around and rolling over submissively onto his back whenever she looked at him - clearly upset at what he'd done. She even took pictures of the pile of crap on the rug - but I'll spare you those for now.
until next time,
KD

Sunday, April 15, 2007

Dogs Playing Poker


This is the original artwork Mrs. Dynamite commissioned my step sister Kaetlyn to do for my birthday. All of the other dogs in the picture are Oscar's pals. Of course, that's Oscar in the portrait on the wall also, and that's his food-toy "moleculeball" in the other painting on the wall.

If you like it, which you'd be insane not to, you can contact her about doing customized work.

-KD

Thursday, April 12, 2007

Dynamite Birthday

I just got such an incredible birthday present, it necessitated a blog post. But first, a little background:

Mrs. Dynamite went on vacation with her mom and her sister this week, to the jungles of Ecuador! They went on a 4 day jungle camping trip, sandwiched between nights in Quito.

That left me and the O-dog alone to fend for ourselves. I managed to run the dishwasher on my own, but was forced to buy more socks and boxers in lieu of doing laundry. I'm kidding - come on, I'm totally domesticated. Kinda.

My biggest worry was leaving Oscar home alone all day - with only a dog walker coming mid-day for company. He hasn't been alone for several months since Mrs. Dynamite began working from home, and is spoiled by human company. The other problem was that Oscar has been sleeping until 9am lately - whereas I'd have to drag his lazy ass out of bed at 5:15am and take him for a walk before I went to work. I was not looking forward to the system shock it might induce in him.

So, Monday morning, as my alarm went off and I tried to lift him out of bed, Oscar gave me the startled look of a pledge at the beginning of initiation: non-comprehension, fear, panic. The look said "Yo, dad, I don't get it - what the fuck is going on? " (yeah, he's my baby, and I'm his dad...I know it's weird... unless you have a dog - then you understand)

Monday afternoon, I nervously returned home after work, and found Oscar acting relatively sedate and slightly insulted, as if to say "Man, I can't believe you deserted me!"

On Tuesday, the wake up look was one of "Are you fucking kidding me? AGAIN?" Coming home, I expected the worst, but was psyched to find Oscar stumbling out of his bed, waking up from a nap - I haven't been able to sneak in on him since he was about 3 months old - so I took it as a good sign that he was napping. I figured he was doing ok on his own.

Wednesday, however, after a wake-up scowl, Oscar rebelled - tearing up his pee pad, and pulling my jeans and sweatshirts off the chair onto the floor. He was clearly saying, "Pops - you better cut this shit out." I made a shocked sounds when I saw the torn pad, and Oscar immediately flopped over onto his back, surrendering and apologizing.

Today, when we got up, Oscar gave me a quizzical look that asked "How much longer is this going to go on?" He then tried to hide under the comforter in an effort to avoid being taken for his morning walk - and he didn't even KNOW it was raining out.

When I got home today, he was happy to see me, having abandoned his rebellious behavior - and helped me on the treasure hunt Mrs. Dynamite had set up for me.

She had scattered 12 clues around the apartment, which I ran around to find, culminating in a large, wrapped gift, which was clearly a framed print of some sort. I cannot do it justice with words, and will post a picture of it as soon as I have one, but it's a takeoff of the classic Dogs Playing Cards, only it's an original painting done by my insanely talented step sister. The dogs in the picture are Oscar and his friends: Paco, Clancy, Buddy and Gilly. It is absolutely incredible. Mrs. Dynamite had arranged the whole thing, and even driven to Boston to pick up the finished piece!

Mrs. Dynamite, in the birthday card she had left, also pointed me toward these pictures of Oscar helping her wrap the present.




thanks, baby, for the best present ever.



-KD

Sunday, April 01, 2007

Vegas: March 2007: Part III

If you haven't read Part I and Part II, go ahead... I'll wait.
Where were we? Oh yes - wallowing in my own sorrow at having been too much of a pussy to circle Phil Gordon, who had just defeated Scotty Nguyen in the NHUPC, we meandered out onto the strip in search of a juicy double deck blackjack game.
Our first stop was the old standby - the IP. The Imperial Palace was hopping, and nary a double deck seat was to be found in the Champagne Pit. Big Show decided to show his mixed game skills by crushing the dice table briefly, before I prodded him to continue our journey.
Switching course, we tried a new tact: The Flamingo! Although I've never previously laid the double deck beatdown on The Flamingo, we found a friendly table which we dominated for almost 6 hours - along with a trio of characters from the Philippines. After a marathon session, I was up a handful of units, and begging Big Show to take a break, on account of my imminent starvation.
We traipsed through O'Shea's, which was on fire. Big Show challenged me: "I bet you cannot find a blackjack table in this place that pays better than 6-5," and I couldn't believe him for a second - but alas, there was no legit blackjack at O'Shea's - only 6-5 single deck. Still, the tables were packed, bottles of Budweiser were abundant, and a rockabilly band had the inebriated crowd amped up. Strangely enough, there is now a Vince Neil tattoo parlor at O'Shea's too... How bizarre.
In an incredibly poor decision, we settled on the Burger King at the O'Shea's food court for dinner! Holy cow - talk about a mistake Vegas veterans should know better than to make. I think we were afraid to do the Chipotle three-peat, which led to this clearly erroneous decision.
Absorbing the horrific aftermath of a few 99c chicken sandwiches, we hit Harrah's with Big Show's brother-in-law Swi, for some low limit EIGHT DECK blackjack! Harrah's had a few dealers with some tremendous flair - lightening speed and card chops - and Swi continually attempted to tilt Big Show by refusing to split 6's against a dealer 4, and staying on 14 against a ten. Big Show steamed over to the roulette table, where he backcounted 8 spins, then pounced with a massively positive EV "BLACK" bet, which of course, came through. Falling asleep at the eight deck shoe, I needed to move on, and we returned to the Mirage for, what else: PAI GOW!
Although I was fading fast, I still refused to down a RedBull - keeping my streak alive, and ensuring that this would indeed be a RedBull-free trip. We got a second wind at PaiGow, and mixed in a little double deck, where we met an interesting character: a highly inebriated guy from the Midwest would rat-hole his yellow $1000 chip, sticking it in his pocket, then run out of money on the table, and have to color down the chip again. Five minutes later, he'd be over $1000 again, and color up, putting the chip back into his pocket. Big Show provided a running commentary: "He's going South with it again... no wait - he's taking it back NORTH!" as we laughed hysterically. South - North - South- North, before retiring to prepare for our final assault on Saturday.
Saturday
Saturday morning we had an agenda - absorb as much negative EV as possible before our early evening flights home. We rose early, and packed our stuff, before checking the Mirage business center to print out our boarding passes. America West (aka, US Airways) tilted me slightly by refusing to provide any services on their "temporarily unavailable" website, so I spent 10 minutes on hold with their 800-number as we checked our bags at the Mirage and walked over to the Venetian. I managed to secure a first class upgrade, and we hit the Venetian poker room.
Unfortunately, although it was 11am, there were no NL seats open, and the floor said they wouldn't be starting any new games, due to the 12:00 tournament that they expected to fill the room. Undeterred, we hit up Grande Luxe for a breakfast comp, and then made the decision: It was time for a Peach Chip Massacre.
We cruised over to the Wynn, and quickly found seats in separate 1-3NL Peach chip games. Big Show, it turned out, was at the juicy table, while I was at an unspectacular table. I put my name on a table change list, and just as the floorperson called me, I looked down at JT on the button. When an EP player raised to $15 and was called 4 times, I called too, and was giving the floor the "hold on a second" finger as I played this last hand. Of course, I managed to get stacked when the preflop raiser flopped a set of nines on the rainbow 3-9-Q flop. He bet out 1/2 the pot, I raised the pot with my open ended draw, and he put me all in. I called with a shrug, getting the right price, and watch the turn and river blank off.
I steamed over to Big Show's table where there were two chooches who had exceedingly liberal raising and calling standards, and a deep stacked Asian kid who thought he was a superstar. This kid wore a flat brimmed hat and sunglasses - sitting directly across the table from me, and put on a show every time it was on him. One hand, I raised to $12 preflop and he went into the tank. After 20 seconds, I feigned a look over my shoulder, "Are there cameras here I don't see or something? Come on - it's on you - it's twelve dollars - it's PREFLOP." Douche.
Somehow, I managed to NOT get felted when I turned an underflush against this pole smoker - a testament to my low-limit-no-limit chops. Twice in one trip I make flush under flush and don't go broke - jeez.
Neither Big Show nor I could felt the maniac, who nearly went out with a blaze on this raise-happy hand: Hollywood limps UTG. There is one caller, then SGM (Southern Gambling Maniac) makes it $18. Two people fold to me, and I smooth call with 9-9. The kid to my immediate left considers raising, but instead elects to overcall (he has T-T). Now the button, aka, FIG (fishy idiot guy) makes it $80 to go. The blinds fold, and Hollywood quickly springs to life, making it $260 MORE! However, something smelled fishy here - I didn't think this player was the type to make such a large limp-re-raise with aces. In any case, SGM, relatively quickly says "What the heck, I'm all in," for about $700. I fold, as does the kid to my left with T-T, and FIG calls quickly. Now Hollywood has a legitimate decision - he has QQ, and about $900 in chips - but his limp-re-re-raise has been re-raised and called! He thinks for a while and mucks QQ. SGM has AK, and FIG has the other QQ!
There is about $1700 in the pot, and the board comes 6-4-3....5....DEUCE! They chop it up!
After wallowing in Peach Chip hell for 4 hours, I can't take it anymore, and we make our way across the street to the Frontier - famous for their deep penetration double deck blackjack game, and also for being the only casino I've ever been at who actually GAVE me a joker when they changed decks. We joined a table with a bunch of chooches, who exhibited little double deck skill, instead relying more on "feel."
The Frontier pit bosses were giving us some indirect heat - by standing 10 feet away from us and watching us by looking at the mirrors on the ceiling over the table, rather than simply standing by the table and looking at us. Come on - DYKWTFIA? You think I don't notice you watching me? Fortunately I had just the play to counter the ceiling heat - the CHERRY ON TOP! I put a red $5 chip or two on top of my green $25 chips, to thwart the pit boss's attempt to monitor my variation in bet sizes! The Cherry On Top is an old patented play, originated as a superstition by our friend Tubbo, but had never found actual practical significance - until now!
Unfortunately, even the counterplay to neutralize the ceiling heat wasn't enough to neutralize the negative EV, and when, a few hours into our session, the dealer made a top of the deck blackjack to crack Big Show and I who each had a hard 20, Big Show didn't even bother with the "I have to go to the bathroom" (because the count is minus EIGHT) - he simply colored up his chips, and we went to crush the 3-card poker game for 25 minutes before we had to head to the airport.
Like a scene out of a movie, the dealer at the 3-card poker table was the opposite of skilled. He moved in slow motion. Normally, this isn't a big deal, but in this case, I ACTUALLY had a plane to catch, and was trying to get some play in before dashing to the airport. When a new player joined the game, and we were delayed for 5 more minutes as he colored down a $100, the TILT proved too much for me, and we had to find another table, where I steamed off the remainder of my double deck buy-in, and eventually actually cashed out my last $20, as I couldn't find the roulette table to implement a last-minute Martingale comeback.
Big Show and I walked back to the Mirage to grab a cab to the airport, where I was pleasantly surprised to find that when you leave Vegas on Saturday evening - there's basically no one else leaving. Big Show was unable to crack the Wheel Of Fortune slot machine at the airport, and another Vegas adventure was in the books.
I boarded my flight, enjoying the ample space in first class, made better by the fact that there was no one next to me. I was slightly confused when the steward asked me: "Will you be joining us for dinner?" Umm.. what? I'm HERE aren't I? I guess so! Even the fat bastard snoring in the seat behind me couldn't rile me up - as I was able to rest a little, as I tabulated PnL's in my head, and prepared for the next journey to the Desert.
Final Numbers:
Wednesday:
Mirage PaiGow: -$1300
Venetian double deck: +$800
Venetian PaiGow: -$500
Thursday:
Mirage 1-2NL: -$55
Venetian 4-8 Limit: +$144
Venetian NL tourney: $-330
Venetian 2-5NL: +$528
Mirage PaiGow: +$50
Friday:
Mirage 1-5 Stud: +$25
Mirage 2-5NL: +685
Caesar's 3-card poker: +$475
Flamingo Double Deck: $+150
Harrah's shoe BJ: flat
Saturday:
Wynn Peach Chip: -$480
Frontier Double Deck: -$400
net Pnl :-$208
until next time,
KD